RM600 and RM60 Malaysia Commemorative Banknotes Released!

Image source: Bank Negara Malaysia

Bank Negara Malaysia is issuing commemorative banknotes in conjunction with the 60th Anniversary of the Signing of the Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement. These commemorative banknotes were launched by His Majesty Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong XV Sultan Muhammad V at the Museum and Art Gallery, Sasana Kijang, Bank Negara Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur.

Public viewing date:

From 21 December 2017


  • Bank Negara Malaysia’s Museum and Art Gallery
  • Bank’s offices in Penang, Johor Bahru, Kota Kinabalu, Kuching and Kuala Terengganu

Specifications of the commemorative banknotes:

Single RM600 BanknoteSold at RM 1,7006,000 pieces available
Uncut 3-in-1 RM60 BanknoteSold at RM 5006,000 pieces available
Single RM60 BanknoteSold at RM 12060,000 pieces available

Note: Prices stated above are inclusive of GST.


Banknote design

The design is based on the theme of “Raja Payung Kedaulatan Negara”. These commemorative banknotes are the first commemorative banknotes printed by Bank Negara Malaysia on the composite substrate, a combination of polymer and paper substrate, which offers higher security features and longer lifespan. These banknotes are printed larger in size, based on its face value.

Obverse: Symbolising Malaysia as a constitutional monarchy, placed in the middle is the majestic royal throne encircled by the portraits of 15 Yang di-Pertuan Agong who have reigned from 1957 till the present day. The obverse design is inspired by the crescent and a 14-pointed federal star which are featured on the royal headgear.

Reverse: The reverse design features the portraits of the nine rulers signing the Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement on 5 August 1957. These banknotes are decorated with prominent independence and post-independence figures and features.  On the right-hand side of the banknote is the triumphant silhouette of Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj, the architect of Malayan independence and the first Prime Minister of Malaysia. Imprinted on the background are four significant landmarks: the National Palace, Perdana Putra, the Parliament building and the Palace of Justice. These reflect the four pillars of the nation: the institution of the Monarchy, the Executive, the Legislature and the Judiciary respectively.

Source: Bank Negara Malaysia

Purchase Limit

To provide a fair opportunity for the public to buy these limited edition banknotes, there will be a purchase limit per person:

  • 1 piece of RM600, and
  • 1 set of Uncut 3-in-1 RM60, and
  • 5 pieces of RM60 banknotes

Online Purchase

To improve buying convenience, the public can place their orders online from 5 January 2018. In the event of oversubscription, balloting will take place.

Sold via Public Auction

Banknotes with special serial numbers will be sold via public auction on 10 March 2018. Further information on the ordering, auction, payment and collection will be informed to the public in a press release prior to the sale date.

For more information, visit Bank Negara Malaysia Website.

Is this helpful?
Overall ratings: 5/5